Toronto Comedian Gets Deeper Into Podcasting

Jump to: Research Shows We All Wanna Be Heard | Real Talk Episode 2 | Huzzah! Latent Results

Will people want to listen to this Toronto Stand-up Comic?

is it egotistical to want to be heard toronto comedian michaeljagdeo.wordpress.com Jagdeocomedy on TwitterI’m an avid listener of The Joe Rogan Experience, and often wondered if I could do a podcast on my own.

It’s an egotistical idea when you think about it.

I have so many interesting things to say that I will create a show where people listen to me for hours on end

But then again, maybe that’s what all artists believe. An artist is essentially someone who thinks that other people should pay attention to their work.

But wait: maybe that’s what we all believe

 

Research Shows We All Wanna Be Heard

we all want to be heard michaeljagdeo.wordpress.com JagdeoComedy on TwitterI remember taking a course with Dr. Jamie Gruman, a clinical psychologist that taught business courses at U of T. He introduced me to the idea of the Self-Concept Based theory of Leadership/Motivation.

The article he showed us (see P. 580) posited, ‘Humans are not only pragmatic and goal-oriented but also self-expressive…We ‘do’ things…because by doing them we establish and affirm an identity for ourselves.’

 

What the hell does that mean?

Have you ever seen someone do what they love to do? It’s a beautiful thing (it’s all in the shoulders…):


In English, the author was saying that humans are motivated to express themselves to the world. Musicians sing, comedians rant, dancers dance, hackers hack, entrepeneurs entrepeneur, pastors preach…why?

It allows them to express themselves. It allows them to yell at the top of their lungs:

Here’s who I am, here’s why I’m important! LISTEN TO ME. WATCH ME.

When someone finally discovers a way to express themselves that ALSO dovetails with their talents, the article said they would no longer need to be motivated. Why? Because they would have found an intrinsically satisfying way to express themselves.

 

This Little Light of Mine


So maybe I shouldn’t feel self-conscious or boastful by expressing myself through podcasts. According the article above, it’s natural. And – if my gut instincts are right – I think my talents lend me to public speaking and writing with a comedic flair.

That’s right, I said it: FLAIR.

 

Real Talk Episode Two: My Experience In Corporate America

I was downtown, watching the penguins waddle to work, and it reminded me about my corporate days; days I remember with mixed emotions.

I talked about things like:

  • My experience in corporate america
  • The management consulting paradox
  • Why young MBA’s suck and how graduate schools are fundamentally broken

If you’re a nerd, you’ll like it. If you’re looking for comedy, pay really, really close attention :).

 

Afterword: The Latent Result of the Podcast

In my previous post, I talked about wanting to be myself on stage, rather than trying to ‘play myself’ on stage. The podcast will be great because I’ll essentially be practising talking without a script, which is how I’d like to deliver my stand-up. It will also give me more experience ranting off the top of my head, which I’d like to get better at. There’s nothing more satisfying than delivering a humourous rant.

 

After, Afterword: The Medium is the Message

Because I’m uploading the podcast as a Youtube video, I decided to create a powerpoint presentation so that people could follow where I was going with my rambling. However, I realized as I was syncing the slides with the audio the relevance of Marshall McLuhan’s quote, ‘The Medium is the Message.’

If the medium that I use to present the podcast is an audio recording accompanied by a powerpoint presentation, the podcast may seem like a PRESENTATION/LECTURE rather than a podcast.

So, I decided to include a quick slide in the beginning that told people to play the video in the background as they cleaned their room rather than sit in front of youtube and watch the video.

If I didn’t have to worry about copyright infringement, I’d use this song as my intro to the podcast.

Michael Jagdeo

About Michael Jagdeo

My name's Michael Jagdeo, and I refuse to write about myself in the third person. I'm a Comedian from Toronto, Ontario, Canada. In addition to honing my stand-up comedy act, I maintain this blog and write the weekly comedy article for blogTO.com.
This entry was posted in The Comedy Business, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Toronto Comedian Gets Deeper Into Podcasting

  1. Pingback: Quora

  2. Pingback: People that tweet too much – Part 1 | Diary of a Toronto Stand-Up Comedian

  3. Pingback: People That Tweet Too Much – Development Hell – Part 2 | Diary of a Toronto Stand-Up Comedian

What do you think?

