Toronto Comedian Applies Lessons From Dr. Robert Anthony’s Beyond Positive Thinking

This post might be a little out there for most of you, but hear me out…shout out to Dr. Robert Anthony, Eckhart Tolle, and Rodney Smith.

Using Meditation to Prepare For A Show

tapping into the universal creative mind

Earlier in the day, my instincts told me to frantically prepare for tonight’s comedy performance by coming up with new jokes.

Normally, I’d follow my nose, but I decided to take a different route this time.

I’ve been talking to Tim Doepfner who runs zazenlife.com, and he told me about the benefits that he received from daily meditation.

I learned how to meditate from Dr. Robert Anthony’s Beyond Positive Thinking (my notes), which is the best self-help book I’ve ever read (and I’ve read A LOT). After meditating for 30 minutes, I was in a great frame of mind.

But I never expected what came next…

 

Immediate, Tangible Results From Meditation

Dr. Anthony’s book talks about the existence of the Universal Creative Mind, from which we can access universal intelligence. It sounds weird I know, and 5 years ago I would’ve called bullcrap, but I do believe it works. But then again, Dr. Anthony also said, ‘…belief is the cause‘ so who knows, right?

I started meditating around 2:00pm, and when I got back to my computer, I saw the following in my gmail inbox:

toronto comedian gets results from meditation

I was stunned. I mean, here I was about to work on my, ‘White people love cottages‘ bit, and right there was an email linking to a blog called, ‘Stuff White People Like.’ That blog has 87 MILLION HITS.

I immediately searched the site and found that there was NO mention of cottages anywhere! So, I created a blog post outlining my cottage bit and sent a message to the author.

We’ll see what comes back! Either way, thanks Universal Creative Mind (read Dr. Anthony’s book immediately)!

 

Keeping The Momentum

keeping the momentum going - sisyphus

I’m going to continue meditating, developing my relationship with the Universal Creative Mind, and working towards the states discussed in Dr. Anthony’s Beyond Positive Thinking (my notes here), Tolle’s Power of Now (my notes here), and Smith’s Stepping out of Self-Deception (notes here). I feel like I’m getting closer to something special.

Someone…anyone out there know what I’m sayin’?

Michael jagdeo

About Michael Jagdeo

My name's Michael Jagdeo, and I refuse to write about myself in the third person. I'm a Comedian from Toronto, Ontario, Canada. In addition to honing my stand-up comedy act, I maintain this blog and write the weekly comedy article for blogTO.com.
This entry was posted in The Art & Science of Comedy and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Toronto Comedian Applies Lessons From Dr. Robert Anthony’s Beyond Positive Thinking

  1. Pingback: Day by Day, My Dreams Are Coming True | Diary of a Toronto Stand-Up Comedian

  2. Pingback: Losing My University Degree | Diary of a Toronto Stand-Up Comedian

What do you think?

