Last In Line: Confessions of An Open Mic’er (Video)

Jump to Video

I was excited! The open mic room had 12-15 non-comedians, which is great for an open mic. Moreover, they were an interactive, lively crowd; just the type I like. However, by the time it was my turn, they had all but cleared out.

You see, I’m an open mic’er. That means that when headliners come, they get on before I do, and typically do as much time as they feel like. For example, I’ve seen headliners do 15-30 minutes of material at an open mic while open mic’ers like me do five. But hey, I guess they deserve it. They’ve put in their time. In addition, I look forward to learning from the best in the room…but that doesn’t mean I’m not disappointed when I go on at 11:30pm on a Monday night…cue the violin. :)

New Dating Set

Here’s a set that I’m working on right now about dating.

The main thing that I was trying to do is just be myself up there. I was really happy about was when I heard a girl say, ‘That’s so true‘ when I finished my joke about girls going on evenings instead of dates. I don’t want to just give a random stream of jokes – I want to have the audience driving home repeating my jokes because they find my arguments to be compelling. I will readily sacrifice laughs to leave a lasting impression. Obviously, the ultimate is to get laughs and give a compelling argument a la Chris Rock, Paul Mooney, Richard Pryor, George Carlin, etc.

Tonight, I’m practising both being myself and honing the new bits at Neil Griffin’s Pickled Onion at Queen/McMurchy. I started really getting serious about putting in a lot of stage time after Nitish Sakhuja, a name you’re going to start seeing more often in comedy circles, encouraged me to get out more often so that my vehicle (delivery) was on par with my driver (writing). Most of all, I’m continuing to have fun. I no longer dread going on stage. I look at it as an opportunity to have fun and KILL.

What does, ‘Pum Pum Tun Up’ mean exactly?

Michael Jagdeo

About Michael Jagdeo

My name's Michael Jagdeo, and I refuse to write about myself in the third person. I'm a Comedian from Toronto, Ontario, Canada. In addition to honing my stand-up comedy act, I maintain this blog and write the weekly comedy article for blogTO.com.
This entry was posted in Open Mic Experiences and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Last In Line: Confessions of An Open Mic’er (Video)

  1. Raymond says:

    That set was very awkward. I feel a little embarassed for you

  2. Simon says:

    I just discovered your blog, you’ve got great observations about stand-up comedy! Look forward to reading more!

    • Hey Simon,

      Thanks for that! Yeah, I’m just trying to be as honest as possible.

      The reverse of the above scenario happened to me tonight; I got put on first. But then that sucked too because the place had maybe 6 audience members and as soon as I got off the stage about 15-20 latecomers filed in!

      All I’m trying to do is do my new set in front of a semi-large audience so that I can get a true reaction…on top of everything, the last two times I’ve tried to record my set, people have stood in front of the camera, so all I have is audio lol.

      The life of an open mic’er….are you a comedian?

      Jagdeo

      • simon says:

        Hey Jagdeo,

        Not a comic, but been following lots of stand-up comedy for a long time now. Been thinking about it though, just have to muster up enough courage.

        • Hey Simon,

          I know what you mean about being afraid to go on stage. I often create excuses in my head to skip open mics.

          Perhaps you can start with the writing side of things. I brain dumped probably 10+ pages of material before deciding that I had something I thought would do well on stage.

          Every journey starts with a single step! Let me know how it goes. :)

          Jagdeo

          • simon says:

            I’m currently in London right now, and i often go to this comedy show on Monday nights and they are really inspiring me to write down my ideas!!! Some famous comedians show up – Rich Hall, Mike Wilmot (whom I shook hands with tonight), Milton Jones, Rufus Hound, Stephen Merchant (made a surprise appearance one night!)…. I swear it’s comedy heaven here!!!

            • simon says:

              Oh btw, I’m from Vancouver. Funny thing, Mike Wilmot asked me tonight if I was a comic, and I told him I was thinking about it, and he told me not to even think about it…. just do it. :P

  3. Darren says:

    I told ya you were getting better!

What do you think?

