Plenty of Fish Complaints

Hey Guys,

I’ve been using an online dating site called Plenty of Fish recently. Many of the women complain that guys message them for sex, including the ones who don’t even have a picture up.

That said, some of these women only have themselves to blame

Looking back, I wish that there were more people in the crowd when I was on stage. About 20 people filed in as soon as I got off, but those are the breaks!

I love this joke because I’ve always been afraid of having a long build-up, because if the final punchline doesn’t hit, I will have bombed….HARD. However, this joke is hitting and garnering an applause break everywhere I’m going (tried it out 4x so far). The best thing about it is that because it hits so well, I can use it to end a set on a high note.

Actually no…the best thing about is that I KNOW THE JOKE WORKS. I was listening to the Joe Rogan podcast recently, and he talked about the joy that crafting a new bit brings. It’s hard to describe the feeling I have when I’m delivering this joke because I know it’s going to make everyone laugh…it’s a feeling of power, but also a feeling of ease and comfort. I take my time to savour the build up, letting the tension build, and as I slowly turn around around 1:05-1:15 of the video I’m listening to the crowd, hearing them chuckle, and know that I have them in the palm of my hands. It’s not exhilirating, it’s not exciting…it’s…I don’t know. I was so, ‘in the moment’ that I can’t recall what the feeling is like…but I want more of them.

UPDATE: I tried the joke again with a full audience at the same location…watch the difference (1:16)!

Phew!

Michael Jagdeo

About Michael Jagdeo

My name's Michael Jagdeo, and I refuse to write about myself in the third person. I'm a Comedian from Toronto, Ontario, Canada. In addition to honing my stand-up comedy act, I maintain this blog and write the weekly comedy article for blogTO.com.
This entry was posted in My Comedy and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Plenty of Fish Complaints

  1. First!

    Great post as always bro. Totally agree about the feeling when making a new bit. For me, its so emotional because its personal. The joke came from you, its your thoughts and feelings and experiences. And after endless hours of rewrites and performances, you finally have it just right. Must be what great chefs feel after perfecting a recipe.

    • Comos Taca!

      Great to see your voice again, Mike! Yeah, it’s a beautiful thing when it all comes together. I look back on the past 8 months and think to myself,

      Damn, has it taken me this long to write an applause-breakingly good joke that hits everywhere I go?

      …but then I realize that if I can write one applause-breakingly good joke, I can write a thousand. And the better and more comfortable I get on stage, the more my on-stage persona will take good jokes and make them great.

      This isn’t the exact Joe Rogan reference I was referring to, but it still holds true…

      The funny thing about that joke is how it changed over time. The first time I did it on stage, the preamble/premise-build was even bigger. It wasn’t really in the context of dating. Click here for an audio clip of the first time I did the joke.

      After the show, a great Toronto comedian by the name of Georgea Brook-Hancock came up to me after and said,

      I think you have something there with that Plenty Of Fish joke…I’ve had guys message me for sex and I didn’t even have my picture up…

      Based on her reaction, I added two tags to the joke (it means you swallow / if a lioness assumes this position) and they seem to be hitting now.

      Moreover, I’m finding that when I say, ‘Even animals understand what this position means’ people laugh, so it’s like I have a punchline (parcheesi), and 3 tags (swallow, even animals understand, and Mufasa).

      Damn I’m eager to get back on stage tonight!

      Thanks as always for your support, man. We’ll have to have some coconut on ice one day!

      Jagdeo

  2. Its such as you read my thoughts! You seem to understand so much about this, like you wrote the guide in it or something. I believe that you could do with a few p.c. to power the message home a little bit, but other than that, this is great blog. A great read. I will certainly be back.

    • Hey Florene,

      Thanks! I find that the more I channel the female perspective in that joke and make eye contacts with the ladies in the audience, the more the joke is resonating.

      When you say I could do with a few P.C. to power the message home, what do you mean by P.C.? I’m all ears!! Love the chance to improve.

      Jagdeo

What do you think?

