Having Fun By Any Means Necessary

Just before I went on stage last night, there was a group of eight women that were downing shots at the bar and talking loudly. Not only did I want them to be quiet because my buddy Lwam was on stage, but I also wanted them to listen to me when I got up there. So, I thought about it, looked over twice, and said, ‘Fuck it…

I went over, introduced myself, told them that I was a hilarious comic and that they needed to listen to me. Sara, the most vocal of the bunch, asked for a shoutout.

That worked out well, if I do say so myself.

Getting Better With The Ladies

I’ve realized that one of the best things about stand-up comedy and going on plentyoffish.com has been that I’ve somewhat demystified the art of talking to women.

First of all, bombing on stage has taught me that rejection isn’t as bad as I thought it would be. In addition, I’ve learned that from getting 1/10 messages returned on POF that approaching women is largely a numbers game. Even the best batsman in baseball hit the ball only four out of ten times.

Troubleshooting the Callback

Last post, HereBeTheSpiders and I went back and forth in the comments section, trying to figure out how to take my callback (a joke referencing a previous joke) to the next level. Specifically, the initial joke is about poorly shooting a basketball (0:27):

What we decided to do was really embellish the, ‘Troubleshooting!!!!’ callback to make the connnection clearer and the joke itself funnier (0:17).

Questions? Comments? Violent disagreements?

A Shameful Mistake

During that clip, I repeated something that Norm MacDonald said in one of his HBO specials, saying the phrase, ‘Tri-coloured ball’ when talking about the WNBA. I didn’t say it to get a laugh…it was more like a digression as I thought about what I wanted to say next, but it’s still a shameful thing to think that I included someone else’s phrase in my comedy.

It’s been bothering me all day because the last thing I want to be seen as is someone that steals material. And even if nobody else noticed it, I think that it’s very important that I recognize that watching a lot of stand-up comedy has it’s downsides as well. It’s very difficult not to get influenced by the people you love the most.

MON SEPT 10 / TIM SIM’S FRESH MEAT COMPETITION / SECOND CITY / 51 MERCER / 8PM / $12 / TICKETS $12 PURCHASED VIA 416 343 0011

tim sim's fresh meat competition encouragement fund

On Monday, I will be competing against 21 other competitors for a spot in the Tim Sims Fresh Meat finals. If you’ve been following the blog, I’d like you to come. If you haven’t been following the blog, I’d like you to come. If you have $12 and have a pulse, I’d like you to come…

…and if your name is Sara…though you have but a small boomshakalaka, you make the most of it, and I for one think that’s commendable,

I first heard this beat on Camp Lo’s Black Nostaljack…ninja come on, ninja come on, ninja come on… Just listen to the man on the bass! Magical.

About Michael Jagdeo

My name's Michael Jagdeo, and I refuse to write about myself in the third person. I'm a Comedian from Toronto, Ontario, Canada. In addition to honing my stand-up comedy act, I maintain this blog and write the weekly comedy article for blogTO.com.
This entry was posted in How To Be A Comic, Open Mic Experiences and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

