Priorities for a Stand-Up Comic

The trek to become a premiere stand-up comedian in Toronto continues this Sunday morning…

Nervous

I looked through Now Magazine, the major arts magazine we have, and I discovered that there are much more open mic possibilities than I originally considered:

Stand-up Comedy Open Mics in Toronto

Stand-up Comedy Open Mics in Toronto

Honestly, looking through all of the listings made me feel nervous, because I imagined myself actually having to go on stage. I dreamt of what it must have been like for guys like Russell Peters and Joe Rogan to come up in the game, performing on open mics, doing a crappy day job, etc.  Could I really labour through the grind for 10 years? Maybe more?

And so I was feeling a bit depressed…but then a light went off in my head: I’m better than these comics.

I have more material than them. I write better than them. I think on my feet better than they do. I’m a student of the game. Kanye West put it aptly, ‘Nigga, you ain’t up on this.”

That put me back in the mood.

Priorities for a Stand-up Comedian

After Friday’s trip down the SEO rabbit hole, I was feeling a bit overwhelmed. There were a lot of things to take care of. Sitemaps, keywords, and linking, oh my, sitemaps, keywords, and linking, oh my

But after prioritizing the list, I began to re-evaluate – nay, reaffirm – what my priorities are:

  1. Write 30 jokes a day.
  2. Practice 2 hours a day.
  3. Perform on stage whenever/wherever I can.
  4. Promote via blogs, videos, social media, etc.  (SEO occurs here)

Paying attention to my body

My spidey-sense in tingling

My bloggy-sense is tingling

But right now, I’m in the mood to blog. And thus, I blog. As an artist (weird eh? artist?), I think it’s important to create when the mood strikes. Inspiration doesn’t run on the same calendar that you use to plan your day (see Dr. Robert Anthony’s Beyond Positive Thinking on the Universal Creative Mind). In other words, When the muse is ready, I better have a pen handy.

Next up

I’m going to finish off SEO’ing my blog. Then a workout, writing, then practice. I have a visit scheduled to the Laugh Sabbath tonight at 8:30pm. It looks like they have professional comedians featured every week, and so I’m interested to check out my competition.

I’m also in a t-shirt and boxers,
Michael Jagdeo

About Michael Jagdeo

My name's Michael Jagdeo, and I refuse to write about myself in the third person. I'm a Comedian from Toronto, Ontario, Canada. In addition to honing my stand-up comedy act, I maintain this blog and write the weekly comedy article for blogTO.com.
This entry was posted in The Comedy Business, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

