A Look Back on my Performance at Yuk Yuk’s

Jump to: My Performance | How You’ve Helped Me | Bryan O’Gorman KILLS | Myles Morrison KILLS

Toronto Comedian Predicts Performance at Yuk Yuk’s

Yuk Yuk’s is Canada’s premiere stand-up comedy club. This was eery because a performance at Yuk Yuk’s was in my business plan when I started out in October of this year:

Toronto Comedian's Business plan

Toronto Comedian's Business plan

 I’ve been trying for over two months to get on (pretty standard from what I hear), and I finally got a call back at 4pm yesterday…that meant I had 5 hours to prepare before I took the stage.

Plan Do Check Act, bitches (whatchu know about the Deming Cycle!?):

How I prepared for the Yuk Yuk's performance

How I prepared for the Yuk Yuk's performance


Yuk Yuk's Stage (at home)

Yuk Yuk's Stage (at home)


Back to Top

 

My Performance (Video)

If you’ve seen my set before, still check out the video. I got laughs this time…really. I added new jokes, new lines, altered the delivery a bit, and things went swimmingly. It turns out I’m not the only one who hates Neil Diamond and thinks black people don’t come to clubs when there are cover charges


Back to Top

 

How You’ve Helped Me

Many of you have been commenting on my blogs, videos, and polls, and I take the feedback seriously. Here are a few comments that helped me prepare for this set (you might have to click on the pic for a bigger image and/or zoom in):

Back to Top

 

Bryan O’Gorman KILLED Tonight

Bryan O’Gorman hosted tonight’s show. As the evening progressed, I thought to myself, ‘Man, people don’t realize how much skill goes into comedy.’

This guy was able to makes jokes relating to EVERY SINGLE COMEDIAN’S SET. And I’m talking about riffing to the point where his jokes were KILLING. When you realize how much time it takes to craft and perfect just two minutes of comedy, and this guy goes up and just hammers out 10-15 minutes worth of killer improv, it’s intimidating and awe-inspiring at the same time.

I talked to Bryan after the show and asked him about his improvisation skills. He said that it was like a muscle that you can exercise. Bryan hosts a lot of shows, and that helps sharpen the saw (holla back, Stephen Covey’s 7th Habit). Look out for this guy, homies; he’s fuzzin’ talented.

Back to Top

 

Myles Morrison KILLED Tonight

Myles Morrison, tonight’s headliner, had the crowd in TEARS:

Until next time…oh, and I’m gonna be on TV, Absolute Comedy called, going to start working with a guy that produces professional comedy shows, might be writing sketches for a late night tv show…but enough about me…

Michael Jagdeo

Back to Top

 

About Michael Jagdeo

My name's Michael Jagdeo, and I refuse to write about myself in the third person. I'm a Comedian from Toronto, Ontario, Canada. In addition to honing my stand-up comedy act, I maintain this blog and write the weekly comedy article for blogTO.com.
This entry was posted in Open Mic Experiences and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

