Listen Up Canada Advertises on the Radio

I thought this up as I was teaching the finance course this weekend…created on iPhone so sorry for lack of colour!

INTRODUCTION

Listen Up Canada advertises on the radio. Some of you see where I’m going with this.

 

PROBLEM

Listen Up Canada sells hearing aids. They’ve decided to advertise on the radio…a medium of advertising requiring the target market to be able to HEAR in order to be effective.

Now unless Beethoven is sitting on the ground with his speakers facing on the ground and he’s able to decipher the vibrations from the ground, I’m not sure if he’s gonna get the message.

 

FURTHERMORE…

And then they leave their PHONE NUMBER at the end of the radio spot.

Now, even if the hard of hearing SOMEHOW were able to translate the vibrations into words, now you’re trying to get them to have a conversation ON THE PHONE.

 

WHAT WOULD THE CALL BE LIKE?

Can you imagine the call?

CSR: Who’s calling?
Deaffie: I need a hearing aid.
CSR: Sure. what’s your name?
Deaffie: What?
CSR: Fuz my life, not again…sir, can I please have your name?
Deaffie: WHAAAT? I really need a hearing aid!

 

WORD OF MOUTH DOESN’T WORK

To their credit, they tried word of mouth advertising but that didn’t go so well…

Deaffie 1: I love this hearing aid!
Deaffie 2: WHAAT?!
Deaffie 1 :I said I I LOVE THIS HEARING AID!
Deaffie 2: The cream cheese is in the fridge!

 

CONCLUSION

It’s like the Canadian National Institute for the Blind putting up a billboard on the side of a highway.

Turn up the volume on common sense.

Michael Jagdeo

About Michael Jagdeo

My name's Michael Jagdeo, and I refuse to write about myself in the third person. I'm a Comedian from Toronto, Ontario, Canada. In addition to honing my stand-up comedy act, I maintain this blog and write the weekly comedy article for blogTO.com.
This entry was posted in My Comedy and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Listen Up Canada Advertises on the Radio

  1. to be fair, they might be targeting people who know/take care of deaf people

What do you think?

