In Defense of Kyla Pawis, Racist White Girl From Brampton

A lot has been made of the following video posted by a white girl from brampton (Kyla Pawis) making racist comments.



I understand why people are upset; it’s racist.

But to be honest, I laughed, and everything she said I’ve heard brown comedians say a bunch of times before.

So why are people’s panties all up in a bunch, yo?

What She Did Wrong

As far as I can tell, she is guilty of choosing the wrong medium for her message. Because she posted the video on YouTube, rather than trying the material out on a stand-up comedy open mic, it comes off harsh.

Comedians get away with much worse all of the time. And don’t give me that, ‘They’re just joking around‘ excuse. The funniest things always come from places of truth.

Me Being Racist Louis CK being Racist

Please note that in both cases, people are laughing and applauding.

What She’s Missing

teacher with chalkboard

This Brampton student needs Professor Jagdeo. If I taugh her how to be a comic using stand-up comedy theory like:

  • Premise-punchline-tag
  • Tension-building premises
  • Definitive click moments strengthened with the last-word theory…

…she’d get laughs at an open mic. For example,

racist white girl from brampton turbinatorPremise: Guys, I’m scared to go to school. There are these machines, dressed up as people, and they want to take over the world… (whisper last line to build tension)
Punchline: …They’re called Turbinators. (punchline is curt, with the joke occurring on the last word)
Tag: If you’re hearing this, you are part of the Resistance. (joke relating to previous Punchline)

Racism Is Our Brain Making Sense of the World

I understand why people got upset. I’m not mad at them because I understand that we need people to rant and rave and write articles and post videos and start asking some serious questions about how are kids are growing up and where are her parents should we blame the parents for this I mean if this is what kids are thinking right now what hope do we have to a multicultural flourishing society in the future are you kidding me I can’t believe she said that she’s dumb she’s ignorant let’s make fun of her. By doing these things, we can feel happy about moving on.

You hypocrite, first take the log out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to take the speck out of your brother’s eye. – JC

Thanks JC. Word from Up Above, Yo. Let’s take a breath, calm down, and recognize that we all think racist thoughts all the time. Racism is just another way our brain helps us categorize the world.

black thug gangsta

What traits do you assume he has just from that image? You see what I’m getting at.

Should we be trying to overcome these racial tendencies? Sure. But let’s not pretend we don’t have the tendencies in the first place. And let’s not pretend the thoughts aren’t there. And let’s not pretend that getting angry for a moment will make them go away.

The master of racial comedy,

Michael Jagdeo

About Michael Jagdeo

My name's Michael Jagdeo, and I refuse to write about myself in the third person. I'm a Comedian from Toronto, Ontario, Canada. In addition to honing my stand-up comedy act, I maintain this blog and write the weekly comedy article for blogTO.com.
This entry was posted in My Comedy and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to In Defense of Kyla Pawis, Racist White Girl From Brampton

  1. Pingback: Welcome | Diary of a Toronto Stand-Up Comedian

  2. Steve Kasan says:

    She’s right, more white folks in brampton leading to more white girls. More white girls mean more brown guys and black guys. More black guys means brampton will turn into Brompton. Brampton + Compton = Brompton
    Thus leading to a waffle house. We need waffle houses in the GTA

    • Actually, more white girls mean more black guys.

      However, the housing prices in Brampton will serve as a barrier of entry, thus preventing a Brompton. Oh, and gas prices. With gas prices high, people don’t want to drive all the way out there.

      I’ve never been to a waffle house…however, I do know someone who has…

      • Steve Kasan says:

        I would call to attention the insurgence of “coloured” folk in areas such as Ajax & Whitby. How did Brampton become so populated in first place?
        With more and more people moving into brampton, home owers and realtors will soon see the value of the area. Thus, either prices will remain the same, grow, or drop.
        The addition of more white girls might prove to be a pandemic and thus Brompton will come about.
        This needs further discussion. The impact of white girls moving into a certain area.

  3. IAMMICKSTA says:

    So you have tendencies to make racist comments? are you a racist? Man your blog is shit.

    • Hi IAMMICKSTA,

      Yes, I have tendencies to make racist comments. Does that make me a racist? Sure, why not. My contention is that we all have these thoughts.

      But which is worse…racist comments, or vengeful threats wishing physical harm on another person? If you don’t know what I’m talking about, I happened to find the comment you directed at her on YouTube…

      I wish you all of the best, IAMMICKSTA. đŸ™‚

      Michael Jagdeo

  4. faggot says:

    Is this dumbass seriously in support of racism? Hey, how’s this for funny you stupid fucking prick,

    • Hey there faggot,

      Or are you calling me a faggot? I’m confused….anyways, nice to meet you…Nate Horton, is it?

      You know, many in the LGBTQ community view the word, ‘faggot’ as a hateful term. In their view, your use of that word is quite offensive.

      But are you a homophobe? Are you genuinely attacking the LGTBQ community? I don’t think so. You just use the term because you don’t see it as homophobic. But do you see how easy it is to be viewed as genuinely hateful?

      I’m not in support of racism. I’m saying that these forms of racism exist everywhere, and to ignore that these feelings exist just perpetuates the problem.

      Either way, I thank you for your time and comment, fag…I mean, Nate.

      Michael Jagdeo

  5. Jay says:

    I can’t agree with your point of view man. Comedy on one hand is enjoyed by the audience, but I do not see comedians telling people of different races to take a hike back to their ancestral homeland.

    This teen shows a lack of cultural sensitivity. First she is in brampton, and I am certain she is surrounded by friendly sikhs and other brown skin toned individuals. I don’t know why she would make a comment to suggest that brampton is no longer a safe place, and it is being occupied by terrorists. As she suggested turbans=terrorists.

    The most hurtful part was when she said “go back home.” I was lost for words – I was born here, this is my home. No respect for someone who can make a comment like that.

    • Hey Jay,

      I agree with you 90%…she shows a lack of cultural sensitivity, equated sikhs with terrorists, and told brown people to go back home.

      I think we’re on the same page. We both disagree with the words she said. But keep in mind that I’m not literally agreeing with what she said.

      What I’m saying is that if she said Turbinators on stage, people would laugh. Almost everyone I’ve talked to, when I said, ‘Dude, she called brown people Turbinators’ laughed. And I’m talking about brown people. We have a large tolerance for racism when a comedian says it on stage. Do they explicitly say, ‘Go home xyz’s’? Of course not. We don’t take comedy literally.

      But that brings up a good point, in that I don’t believe she really meant what she said. I think she was joking around, but never got the chance to explain herself.

      I was born here as well. This is my home. While I don’t agree with what she said, I didn’t take her seriously, nor do I believe that there are a lot of people in Canada that think like her.

      And when I don’t take people seriously, I simply move on, feel me?

      Jagdeo

  6. rochelle says:

    I completely agree with her. There are far too many muslims and immigrants that are flocking all over the world. I live in England and immigration is a huge burdon on our recources, this country is too full up as it is. People who use the term ‘racist’ are moronic retards who have limited vocabulary. Most of them dont even know what it means. For you muppets: Its not about race, its about culture. Multiculturalism does not work. It is proven to not work. Muslims do not integrate with us whites, we are seen as dirty, easy sl**s while their wives are at home covered from head to toe in the kitchen. That is why muslims colonise in certain areas, and most black Africans live in certain areas, mostly poor areas. My husband doesnt beat me up or ask me to cover my body from head to toe or he will kick my ass. I dont pray (to f**k knows who???) 5 times a day. I celebrate Easter and Christmas. I dont reek of curry. A nd I dont wipe my arse with my left hand and wash with a bucket. I am not a muslim and I dont want to be one. Go to any auction house in any town in England and 95% are muslims buying our country up from beneath our feet. The most common name consecutively since 2002 has been MOHAMMED????????? This is ENGLAND. And it stinks. If you lefty white people whining ‘your racist’ are happy for your children and grandchildren to become muslims( which will happen if something isnt done soon) then God help you pathetic hopeless fools. More and more people are voting BNP because we are sick of having to tolerate these cultures that we dont want. We are a christian country NOT a muslim country and there are tensions rising we can all feel it. There will be a 3rd world order and I will fight for the future of my children. Can you imagine the stink caused if a whole bunch of white Christians went over to pakistan, Iran, saudi arabia etc and started building churches??? We would be stoned to death. This country is a laughing stock, used and abused by immigrants the world over and I have no patriotism left in me nor respect for this once great country.

    • Hey Rochelle,

      Damn, you went in. We don’t see eye to eye, and that’s ok. However!

      Part A – England’s Transgressions

      Can you imagine the stink caused if a whole bunch of white Christians went over to pakistan, Iran, saudi arabia etc and started building churches??? We would be stoned to death.

      Just ask any Indian (from India) what happens when the English pay a visit…remember the British East India Company? The Indians eventually had to have to struggle for independence in their own country.

      It gets better…let’s see what happens when, ‘white Christians’ visit America…

      Part B – when, ‘White Christians’ visit America…

      You said,

      People who use the term ‘racist’ are moronic retards who have limited vocabulary. Most of them dont even know what it means. For you muppets: Its not about race, its about culture. Multiculturalism does not work. It is proven to not work. Muslims do not integrate with us whites…

      Here’s a quote from Christopher Columbus’ diary soon after he landed:

      They … brought us parrots and balls of cotton and spears and many other things, which they exchanged for the glass beads and hawks’ bells. They willingly traded everything they owned… . They were well-built, with good bodies and handsome features…. They do not bear arms, and do not know them, for I showed them a sword, they took it by the edge and cut themselves out of ignorance. They have no iron. Their spears are made of cane…They would make fine servants….With fifty men we could subjugate them all and make them do whatever we want.

      Clearly, it was Columbus’ people, your beloved, ‘white Christians’ that didn’t integrate well with the natives. Read A People’s History of the United States of America

      You said,

      We are a christian country NOT a muslim country and there are tensions rising we can all feel it. There will be a 3rd world order and I will fight for the future of my children. Can you imagine the stink caused if a whole bunch of white Christians went over to pakistan, Iran, saudi arabia etc and started building churches??? We would be stoned to death.

      How do you know? Oh wait, that’s right, this has happened before. Here’s a journal entry from Bartolome de las Casas, who, as a young priest, participated in the conquest of Cuba:

      Thus husbands and wives were together only once every eight or ten months and when they met they were so exhausted and depressed on both sides … they ceased to procreate. As for the newly born, they died early because their mothers, overworked and famished, had no milk to nurse them, and for this reason, while I was in Cuba, 7000 children died in three months. Some mothers even drowned their babies from sheer desperation…. in this way, husbands died in the mines, wives died at work, and children died from lack of milk . .. and in a short time this land which was so great, so powerful and fertile … was depopulated. … My eyes have seen these acts so foreign to human nature, and now I tremble as I write.

      All of that evidence in history is there, yet you say:

      This country [England] is a laughing stock, used and abused by immigrants the world over and I have no patriotism left in me nor respect for this once great country.

      Your buddy, Jesus Christ, might chastise:

      You hypocrite, first take the log out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to take the speck out of your brother’s eye. – JC

      That said, thanks for commenting. You didn’t have anything funny like Turbinator in your rant, though.

      Jagdeo

      • lizzy says:

        see that’s the kind of reply that I agree with..not a whole bunch of pointless stereotypical comments, but a solid (and polite) argument that will help us bring that kind of racism to an end. Keep up your awesomeness man. đŸ˜€

        • Hey Lizzy,

          Thanks for that! Yeah, I hate when people get angry and abusive during arguments…it only serves to cloud the issue and further entrench each side into believing their own position and hating the other side.

          What do you think? Do you think she was being any worse than the comedians we love to see on stage like Chris Rock, Louis CK, etc.? The more I think about it, the more I become can see both sides of the argument.

          Jagdeo

          • Marcellino says:

            SHE IS NOT A COMEDIAN AND NEITHER ARE YOU! Chris Rock and Louis CK tell JOKES on stage. They are COMEDIANS and have ON STAGE Persona. That is not how they are like in real life. They are ACTING on stage and telling JOKES on stage.

            • Hey Marcellino!

              My argument above was that if she was on stage, that she’d get laughs, not whether or not she was a comedian. I’m sorry you don’t feel that I’m a comedian. HOWEVER…

              You think Chris Rocks’ ‘Niggers vs. Black People’ is a joke that he doesn’t believe in? C’mon.

              You think Louis CK’s ‘Bwing White’ is a joke that he doesn’t believe? C’mon.

              That’s not how they are in real life (0:31 in)?

              Perhaps you have a more optimistic view of how people think than I do, and that’s ok. While I do agree that many people are simply telling jokes and acting on stage, I don’t want to do that. I aspire to tell jokes from a place of truth and make arguments on stage. And while I believe arguments change so that they can fit the stand-up format, I do believe that most of them come from a place of truth.

              But I’m glad you’ve commented, because you’ve made me realize something very important, something that the online community might not understand: although I’m an overweight brown guy with glasses that writes well, I grew up in Malvern, a less than affluent part of Toronto which many people are afraid to go. My best friends were black, indian, sri lankan, white, etc. I understand how races interact with each other because I grew up – on my street – with races interacting with each other. The first impression of someone seeing me on stage is not that, whatsoever. Perhaps I’ll work that into my act somehow, as in the way that I dress or something.

              Thanks for the insight, Marcellino!

              JagdeoComedy on Twitter

    • Ahanna says:

      Hello Rochelle,

      When you mix sugar with water does it detract from either? No. Instead, the water becomes sweeter. For you to so ignorantly state that the presence of Muslims (not to mention you arrogantly clubbing various ethnic groups under the term of ‘immigrants’) equals the domination of their culture(and the apparent fear/disgust it seems to evoke) simply points to the colonial hangover that you seem to have.

      Without any sort of cultural understanding of why people of Islamic origins partake in certain customs, it would be wiser for you to not comment on them. Furthermore for you to generalise that non-Western traditions equals poverty, domestic violence is as bad as me equating every person from the Western cultures as racist (based solely on your uninformed opinion).

      Every culture has their fair share of positives and negatives. Never for a second assume that the society you live in right now is how your England was. This “once great country” you speak of? Have you any idea of how it came to secure such a position? Have you ever thought of to look beyond this narrow discourse that you seem to have internalized so well? Because if I go back merely 70 years, it was this “great country” that with it’s white man’s burden felt the need to take it upon themselves to educate and civilize countries of the Orient (purely because for self serving purposes).-whose culture they had no idea about. All they knew was that it was not their own culture, it was not a reflection of their identity hence it’s bad. Such egoistic, ethnocentric morals you seem to imbibe as well.

      Finally, patriotism is good. But what you show is pure, unbridled racism. Multiculturalism is the sole thing that allows our society to become a cohesive unit, and protects us from stagnancy.
      And since you seem to glorify all that is English so much, I’ll leave you with a quote by Shakespeare: ” I am a Jew.
      Hath not a Jew eyes? hath not a Jew hands, organs,dimensions, senses, affections, passions?
      Fed with the same food, hurt with the same weapons, subject to the same diseases, healed by the same means,
      warmed and cooled by the same winter and summer, as a Christian is?”

      Also, return the Kohinoor diamond and then complain about us infecting your culture.

    • Sandra says:

      So just because Muslims live here…your saying that they are abusing “your” country because they think differently of you…..Look there are many ways you can look at the world, but you need to look at the reasoning of why your thinking that way…because it does not make sense..Iran is consistently at war with other middle-eastern countries (Afghanistan). The families that are living there do not want their children growing up in fear and in secluded areas…Because of this, they are immigrating into your country and other countries…They want their children to have a better life not a life of living in fear…Imagine living in fear constantly knowing that you or your children may die soon…
      On the other hand, I understand of why people feel like Muslims are taking over their country, but it is just their mindset and the background they grew up in…By the way, these allegations you are putting out…is more of a psychological idea…you have engraved in your brain…learn how to grow up…

  7. Pingback: Funny Pictures – Blog Hater Fail | Diary of a Toronto Stand-Up Comedian

  8. I think your point is that if racism is used to prove a point (a tactic Louis CK and Patrice use[d]), and make you think/question something then we can be more lenient.
    Or at least if racism is used in the context of a joke in a creative way – in a forum where creativity is encouraged (ie. stand up) then it “gets a pass”.
    That being said: chick is racist.
    I know where your head is at in opening your mind and abolishing taboos to reach a higher plateau of creativity, I get it. Free speech!
    Spewing racial slurs in a hateful manner is just good ol’ fashion racism.
    It’s also just fucking lazy.

    • Hey BB,

      Someone gets me! Agree with ya totally.

      You said it: racism to prove a point or used creatively in a joke, ‘gets a pass’ in our society. And I agree that she was just spewing racial slurs…

      But being creatively racist and garnering laughs because of it is still racist too, no? Does it make it any worse because someone sucks at comedy? Seems like there’s a double standard being used there.

      For example:

      I found out what Cinco De Mayo is…that celebration…it’s the day they invented that the fuel-powered leaf blower. – Brian Holtzman

      Now I think that’s GOLD. Is it racist? Yeah. Is it creative? Hell yeah.

      I mean, by no means am I saying I have all of the answers. I guess what I’m saying is that I’m not bothered by any of it. Part of it is free speech, the other part of it is I don’t want things censored because it impedes our ability to accurately assess where were are as a culture. To get where we want to go, we have to know where we currently stand.

      In fact, there is a lot of sociological work done on, ‘implicit racism.’ Me, I don’t mind when people are being explicitly racist because at least we can see what is going on in their heads. It’s when words say one thing and actions, like institutionalized racism, that things really get scary.

      Whaddaya think?

      Jagdeo

      • I think you should meld both your points: being racist on stage to EXPOSE institutional racism.
        I do not condone being racist on stage just for the sake of laughs. But if you’re exposing a logical quandary – a social fallacy – then that’s completely different.
        I tend to be viewed as misogynistic in my writing and comedy – and my everyday life. But that’s just the surface. I believe the “institutions” in place are what’s wrong. Not that women are born inherently flawed, or lesser.
        I like what you’re saying about knowing where we stand: that, in my mind, is the quintessetial problem with our society. People shy away from the truth, and let decorum dictate their behaviour.

        Back to the comic as racist. If you’re on stage and the crux of your racist rambling is: black people are dumb, Jews are greedy, Muslims are terrorists, and white folks are evil, then I do not condone. I find it cowardly to hide behind ‘Free Speech’.

        • Hey BB King,

          I hear ya.

          You mentioned coming off as mysogynistic. A lot of times I think I get faulted for being racist when the problem is that I’m just working out material and trying to make a point.

          For example,

          I said that I respected Kim Kardashian for building a media empire by only having sex once on stage. I went onto say that I’m pretty sure that Ray J didn’t ejaculate media empires. I then asked the crowd if there were any overweight white women that could attest to the contents of black male ejaculate. All of that got laughs. I wasn’t trying to be mysogynistic or racist.

          I also think that there is something to be said for material to be racial vs. racist. Racism is hatred towards a race. Racial is simply the topic of race.

          Yeah, and I also agree that simple racism for the sake of getting a laugh is bad because it’s lazy. Lol, how funny is that…I am more upset that the comedian is lazy than that they are making fun of a race. Ah well, let me not deny it!!

          Jagdeo

  9. TheTruthBro! says:

    What do white people think they are? The sh**?? All they do is drink and have sex with multiple people at a time. Then they goto church and act all sincere to
    Jesus Christ (wtf). No wonder this culture is so messed up…there are no rules or regulations (at least thats the impression given). You hear cases of teenage girls and boys running away from home, and the majority of them are white… Now you be the judge. All the gays and lesbos exist within the white community , I mean come on, i

    • LMAO,

      All due respect, white people are the shit. They’ve pretty much ruled modern civilization for the past…couple centuries? All that conquering can get to your head. I mean, they went to the freakin moon! White people. No wonder every other culture looks up to the fairest skinned people in the community. They did their fair share of atrocities in the process, no doubt…but any civilization that has power leaves a trail of dead bodies behind them.

      I think you just stumbled on a great bit there: only white kids run away. How come? Cue Chris Rock rant.

      Hey, leave the gays and, ‘lesbos’ alone. I’d love to date a lesbian…that’s kinda every guy’s fantasy.

      I think I lost the rest of your comment…please repost!

      • TheTruthBro! says:

        White skin is looked up to? Are u kidding me? Then why do all of u clowns want to get tanned so badly? Why do you die for the skin color that is given to south asian people naturally? The funny thing is, when pasty skinned people go tanning, they turn out to be sunburned/red…awkward. Other cultures laugh at that…just saying. And, the prettiest, most beautiful and appealing features come from non-western women…many people know that for a fact. I mean go search up some lebanese/turkish/pakistani/indian celebrities. Go look at aishwarya rai, she was friggin miss world! These kind of girls actually have distinct features which many white people lack, ask anyone from the South. Also, about the gay thing, i meant that it’s not typical to find them in non-western cultures, for example , the middle east. It’s obvious that it’s something that exists within you guys. Too bad in our society it’s considered wrong speak against gays because you guys made it “alright” to be gay.

        • Yes, that’s right. I believe that white skinned people are, historically-speaking, revered. I think people like getting tanned because it lets others know that they’ve been to a warm place in the world.

          Citing Aishwarya Rai to prove that white skin isn’t looked up to? LMAO:

          Most if not all indian actresses wear makeup to look whiter, rather than darker.

          Regarding homosexuality, I’m not going to get into that. You obviously have a point of view that can’t be changed, which is fine. I have some of those, too.

          Wish you all the best!

          Jagdeo

    • Anonymous says:

      You are out of your mind, the GTA white people are mostly all atheist whites, they have nothing to do with Biblical christianity at all, the fecal perverts among them are just what comes from a nihilist end to the atheist Marxist road that Canada has been taken over by ever since the 80s. Your hatred of Jesus the Creator only shows your own wicked soul, because God has nothing to do with the atheistic mindset of the average white person in the GTA who are not Christian whatsoever.

  10. Research Canadian says:

    It’s free speech. The fact that people reacted so angrily proves that Canada is a very repressed country. I read the South Asian Times and The Weekly Voice Newspaper and have piles of evidence of Asian racism against Canadians. I have gone to a studio in Toronto and conducted debates on all of these issues and am writing a book about it and have been for the past 2 years.

    Not all cultures are equal. Honor killings and terrorism and cultural terrorism are rampant and Germany, France, The U.K and Holland declared multiculturalism dead. It’s dead because it’s not a culture but a political system used as an ethnic slush fund vote bank. (ref: The Northern Magus: Pierre Trudeau’s Biography /By: Richard Gywn).

    I will do a debate on The Peel Region and the problems going on there including the high poverty levels. I debated this recently. It’s not easy at all to talk about these things. I had one debate recently. Just copy and past it into the youtube . com. ==>

    Canada’s Broken Mosaic: The Literary Critics of Multiculturalism

    • sebastian says:

      Yeah but when you show hatred towards other people, is that justifiable because of what they look like? is hate justifiable? It is an excuse to call these acts of hate “freedom of speech” more like “Freedom of hate speech” you and your stupid excuses to justify hate you can do all the debates you want does not justify anything.

  11. Try living in Brampton!!! As a white person that’s lived in Brampton since 1983, I’m all about multiculturalism and accepting to it. But it’s the religion aspect that hate!!!!!!!

  12. ranjit ginday says:

    shes racist why is she judging a whole race for the act of one person who cares if she got charged expelled arrested her house got broke in she got death threats she deserves it she is just uneducated

  13. sebastian says:

    She is showing what she feels she is not joking she is not a comedian so it is different I am sure when you tell your jokes you do not mean it in harmful way

  14. Wolfie says:

    I, being brown, didn’t find her video amusing…it hurt. There’s so much racism going on with brown people in this world. I know this isn’t nice, but she’s a narrow-minded idiot. She generalized everybody with brown skin into one category because she’s to narcissistic to understand what kind of message she’s getting out to people. People have been racist to me since I was the age of 5, so I don’t take these things lightly. Especially the fact that she called all brown people terrorists. I cry at 9/11, not praise it. It’s hard to live in a world where people a oppressed for the color of their skin. I’m only 14, you can take from that what you like, but I’ve seen likes of hatred that I hope nobody will have to face in the future. The fact that you twist her words into justifications of her offensive actions sickens me a bit. I can barely fit in and I’m subjected to stereotypical situations every single day…it’s even harder now because I’m going to high school next year. Although I don’t believe in threatening or hurting other human beings, she needs to be taught a lesson and pay for her actions. What I want most is for her to realize how it hurts people like me and for her to realize where she went wrong. I’m just a kid and I have to live through this, knowing that there’s people out there who don’t like me because I was born in a way that they feel is inferior. I am not what she makes it out to be. It’s funny when brown people make fun of their own race…that’s cool, it’s just them making a comedy out of a life they’ve been through and situations they’ve personally experienced but when a white person does it it’s a lot more painful to watch. What she said was racist, and as far as I’m concerned, she was dead serious. Please don’t turn the table around to make her seem like the victim. She’s a racist and that’s what she made herself out to be. It’s not comedy when it actually hurts someone.

    • Hey Wolfie!

      Thank you for your time in commenting. You obviously care a lot about this issue and it sounds like you’ve faced a bit of persecution because of your ethnic background.

      However, your statement, “It’s not comedy when it actually hurts someone” couldn’t be farther from the truth. Some of the best comedy out there can be hurtful to certain groups. Case in point:

      Now, that’s a seven-minute bit on violence against women. Now, that’s a joke that is probably upsetting to certain women. However, he explained it in a way that made a 3,000 laugh.

      I wish you all the best going to high school!

      Jagdeo

  15. Sonia says:

    Hey Jagedo
    You are unwell bro.
    Get well soon.

  16. Anonymous says:

    Ah Seriously ? You compare those comments to stand up comedy , cause you are comedian ? Get some logic on how to use analogy .

  17. wangadu lin says:

    Did you take marijuna man? It ain’t good for you!

  18. Putal says:

    You are a fucked up piece of shit…like totally. Lol, I came to this blog to read another persons objective comment on this. All I saw was a stupid, biased rant. You are messed up in your head. The funniest thing is that dimwits like you think it can pass off as “comedy” or “joke”. See let me ask you this – how would you like if someone beat the snot out of your candy ass as a “joke” just for some”fun”? Come back and talk your shit when you are ok with that. Retarded racist.

    • Hi Putal!

      Thanks for commenting. No, I wouldn’t much like someone beating the snot out of my candy ass (hey, is that a diabetes joke? If so, good job!) for a joke just for some fun.

      Look, my dad’s last name was Jagdeo, and my mom’s last name is Singh. This probably means that my roots go back to the region that Kyla Pawis is specifically talking about. That said, I’ve laughed at people making fun of blacks, whites, latino, chinese, you name it. Now, just because this girl is making fun of something closer to home, that doesn’t mean I’m not gonna laugh.

      I’m sorry you resorted to name calling and pseudo-threats, and you even called me retarded. I wish you all the best.

      Namaste,

      Jagdeo

  19. Anonymous says:

    u know what it’s not the same thing as a comedian. When comedians make those jokes they aren’t making fun of “Brown” (for lack of a better word) people they are making fun of the things people say about them. It’s better sometimes to just laugh along with the jokes people make about you and put on a brave face then sit around feeling sorry for yourself. We r tired of going away feeling bad about ourselfs when a comedian makes a racist joke about themselves in reality we r mocking those that insult us. What the girl in the video said was completely inexcusable. How many times have you heard “white” people joke, probably not many. Do u even know how it feels to be made fun at to go to any public place and have people just stare at u. My family knows how it feels we have been treated like that since my great grandfather first came to Canada. People like the girl in the video just make us feel worse. So no, I don’t agree with anything you are saying at all. She is wrong simple as that.

    • Hi there,

      First of all, thank you for the heartfelt comment. You and your family have been affected by racism, and I deeply sympathize with you. I’m sorry that people have stared at you for being different. Look, my parents, like yours, were discriminated against because of the colour of their skin and where they came from. I remember growing up, feeling ashamed that I liked Indian music, to the point where I wouldn’t even play it in my car for fear of ridicule. Not anymore!

      Anyhow…your contention is that there is a difference between comedy and what this girl was doing. I agree, to a certain extent. Here was my point: Comedians get away with much worse all of the time. And don’t give me that, ‘They’re just joking around‘ excuse.’ The funniest things always come from places of truth.

      You have, no doubt, laughed at comedians making fun of other races. Were people of those races potentially hurt by the comedy that you were enjoying? Absolutely. But you didn’t feel bad, didja? No, you didn’t. Our ego makes us infinitely more sensitive when people are making fun of us.

      My heart goes out to you. However, I would summarize my response with a quote from Dr. Robert Anthony, ‘When you bump your knee against a chair, the pain occurs as a result of what’s happening in your knee, not because of what’s happening in the chair.’

      Jagdeo

What do you think?

