How I’m Preparing For A Big Show Tonight | Hard Rock Cafe | 8pm | $20

I feel a combination of nervous energy and anticipation as I prepare for my biggest performance ever: opening for Quinn C. Martin at the Hard Rock Cafe at Yonge & Dundas tonight (Sunday) at 8PM.

Quinn C Martin Toronto Comedy Adventures of Quinn Quinn

Here’s how I’m preparing.

Getting On Stage

Michael Jagdeo performing at Spilling the Beans at Full of Beans Roastery

Well, I wanted to get on stage at least one more time before the big show so I went to do an open mic (Rene Armando Payes’ runs Spillin the Beans Open Mic at Full of Beans Roastery on Dundas W every Saturday at 7PM) last night which went well.

Seeing A Great Comedian: Jimmy Pardo

Michael Jagdeo with Jimmy Pardo opener for Conan O'Brien

Darryl Purvis once said to me, ‘See as many good comedians as possible’ and so I went down to check Jimmy Pardo out (he opens for Conan O’Brien every night). While doing an article for blogTO, I found out that his act was predominantly made up of audience interaction. Having never seen an hour of that type of performance, I couldn’t wait to go.

I wasn’t disappointed. It was amazing to see someone be that quick on their feet for an ENTIRE HOUR. I mean, we all shoot the ish when we’re with friends, but with the requirement to constantly say funny things when interacting with a crowd…NUTS!

Tending To The Physical

Michael Jagdeo's obligatory Gym Pic

This morning, I went to the gym. I wanted to have broad shoulders on stage and look strong…probably won’t happen tonight, but oh well. Notice the Rocawear bottoms (can a guy say, ‘bottoms’ to describe their pantalons)? Anyhoo, velour pants are the new sweat pants…you heard it here first. The last time I was on stage at Hard Rock, I was 215 lbs. Today, I’m 192.

Tending To the Mental

With just under four hours until showtime, I’m going to rehearse my material. But before I do that, I’m going to spend 20-30 minutes meditating and visualizing the performance tonight.

Take care, and keep getting on stage. With desire and persistence, I believe anything is possible.

Jagdeo

About Michael Jagdeo

My name's Michael Jagdeo, and I refuse to write about myself in the third person. I'm a Comedian from Toronto, Ontario, Canada. In addition to honing my stand-up comedy act, I maintain this blog and write the weekly comedy article for blogTO.com.
This entry was posted in The Art & Science of Comedy, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How I’m Preparing For A Big Show Tonight | Hard Rock Cafe | 8pm | $20

  1. Marvin says:

    How did that go

What do you think?

