Someone Is Impersonating Me

So much trouble in the world. – Bob Marley

Case in point, it turns out that someone posted a homophobic comment using my name on another Toronto comedy blog:

someone impersonating michael jagdeo

Moreover, they put a link back to blogTO, whom I write a weekly article for. Perhaps he/she was hoping that someone would report the comment back to them and get me fired. Well, they were right – but only in part. The owner of blogTO brought the comment to my attention, I told him it wasn’t me, and that was that.

Now, I don’t mind if people don’t like my comedy. I don’t mind that they tell me I suck. I can handle that. But impersonating me on another blog? That speaks to motive and planning. I think it’s unfortunate that someone is trying to defame me, but I guess that’s showbiz, eh?

On The Bright Side…

I now have what’s called in hip-hop circles as, ‘Haters.’ Having, ‘haters’ is essential for one’s career, because they provide a topic that you can rap about ad nauseam. And to commemorate this special occasion, I thought I might write a rap verse in response:

You’re living like – positive in a bracket
Minus sign causing you to act erratic
Fuck that I ain’t having that like a Redman
Tapping your jaw like Sugar Ray did Duran

Watch a lickle keyboard warriah
Tink him come from a Jamaica
Wan fi test di big machine gun
Only to run into big pun

Or rather like a big pen I’m using All Caps
Even your bredren don’t give you a daps
You using small print; nasty – Impersonating jaggy?
Now that I can’t have, B – your movements? sloppy

Haters commenting – using my name
Using a flame – trynna tell the world I’m to blame?
But you know I still got love for ya…

- Michael Jagdeo on vocals, drums (tapping iPhone), and steel pan

There are two ways to have the biggest building: build it, or tear everyone else’s down.

About Michael Jagdeo

My name's Michael Jagdeo, and I refuse to write about myself in the third person. I'm a Comedian from Toronto, Ontario, Canada. In addition to honing my stand-up comedy act, I maintain this blog and write the weekly comedy article for blogTO.com.
This entry was posted in How To Be A Comic, My Comedy, Open Mic Experiences and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Someone Is Impersonating Me

  1. Augh! I’m glad the blog owner took your word. Hell I’m sure it’s easy enough for him to see the ip address and figure out who it really was.

    I don’t do rap, so I’ll take it as truth that it was excellent – I wouldn’t know the difference :)

    • Hey HTBS!!

      Yeah, times like these really reveal how people think of you. The owner of blogTO could’ve easily doubted me, but he didn’t.

      Luckily, some Toronto comedians got in touch with Eli Jakemen (the owner of the blog where the comment was posted) when they saw the comment and told him it was out of character:

      As for the rap, it shows the power of focus. One of my side goals was to write a rap verse (I have a few friends that are rappers), and this gave me the perfect excuse. It was tough! I had to record the steel pan, vocals, and iPhone percussion all separately, and then sequence the entire thing using Windows Movie Maker, LMAO.

      I give my own rap 3.8 mics out of 5…I have to penalize myself because I used a Redman line.

      Jagdeo

  2. Ooooo man, you have kicked off a Isaac of swearing in my house! I played a bit for the hubby, just so he could explain the tech to me (Redman line?) and all he cares about is what damn tune is on the steel drum, he knows it he knows it he knows it, played it a ton, Bacao rhythm and steel band, German, called PIMP. He says fiddy covered it first. He’s now explained to me that Redman is a rapper and not a bit of tech :) He didn’t like the iPhone percussion, by the way. There’s no point in asking him about the rap lyrics, he doesn’t hear words, just the music. Weirdo.

    Anyhoo, I was thinking its sort of a good thing to have haters. It means yer doing something right enough to make someone else jealous. Yay!

    • Lol, sorry to cause a row!

      If he likes steel pan music, click here for my band’s YouTube channel where we’ve posted a few of our songs. Here’s Lionel’s Hello:

      And yeah, while I don’t like the fact that people are hating, I realize it’s a natural part of being successful. It takes a special kind of insecurity to despise another’s happiness.

      Onward we shall go,

      Jagdeo

  3. Tash says:

    Hater’s gon hate, but I got yuh back Jaggy! :) Even if my English ain’t coming correct. “Nuff Luv”

What do you think?

