Is The Truth Funny?

Is it possible to simply state the truth on stage and get laughs? It’s a question that’s central to my comedy as I try to strip away all of the bullshit and just be myself on stage.

Testing out the Truth

is the truth funny dipping toe in water

Last night, I started my set with,

I would like to dispel a myth: Ladies, just because you get your picture taken with a digital camera, that doesn’t necessarily make you a model.

To my delight, it got a big laugh. Now, that’s simply the premise of the joke. The punchlines come after. The question is: why did they laugh? Was it because of:

  • The suspense developed using, ‘I would like to dispel a myth…’
  • My facial expression?
  • The matter of fact delivery?
  • It’s simply the truth?

I’m not sure, but I’m looking forward to finding out the answer(s). Because if I can make the truth funny, I’ll be well on my way.

Last Word Theory

The theory states that you want a joke to hit the audience at the last possible moment in your sentence. Why? Because if the joke hits the audience while you’re still speaking, you’ll be talking over their laugh (called, ‘stepping on their laugh‘). In the above example, the laugh doesn’t come until I say the word, ‘model.’

Tim Sim’s Encouragement Fund Competition

tim sim's fresh meat competition encouragement fund

I’ve been nominated along with 20 other comedians to compete in the Tim Sim’s Fresh Meat Competition. The winner gets $5,000.00. As the Sept 10th date approaches, I’ve planned/booked 12-15 open mic performances to get ready. When I win on the 10th, the finals will be on the 30th of September, and I’ll need a killer ten-minute set to get the $5k.

The best thing about the competition is that it’s given me a deadline to write new material. Work expands to fill the time alotted, as they say. A deadline gives me just the sense of urgency that I need to buckle down and put in the serious work it’s going to take to win.

Ever wish a song was just the chorus, over and over and over again?

Jagdeo

About Michael Jagdeo

My name's Michael Jagdeo, and I refuse to write about myself in the third person. I'm a Comedian from Toronto, Ontario, Canada. In addition to honing my stand-up comedy act, I maintain this blog and write the weekly comedy article for blogTO.com.
This entry was posted in How To Be A Comic, My Comedy, The Art & Science of Comedy and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Is The Truth Funny?

  1. Oh yes, truth is funny! When I read that, I thought of not people I know personally but all those fake-tan duck-face photos circulating on the web. If I think further, which you of course as the man with the funny can allow me to do with more examples, or not – by changing the topic – I can think of real people I know, and their poses. I’d love to know if you made the duck face!

    • Oh yeah, I know which ones you’re talking about. I didn’t make the duck face, but I did the hands-on-hips-arched back pose when saying the next line:

      Just because you’re the best looking girl at the family’s BBQ, that doesn’t make you a model, either.  It just makes you overdressed for the BBQ.  Saw one of these girls…cocktail dress, hands on hip, back arched…rusted lawnchairs and swing set from 1985 in the background, posing with a burnt jerk chicken drumstick in one hand.

      Funny enough, tonight I used this joke and it bombed, but it may have had to do with the fact that I opened the set on a shaky improvised joke that didn’t get any laughter. Such is comedy.

      You know…because my face is chubby, I remember pulling in my cheeks slightly in pictures to try and seem thinner…so I understand why they do the duck face, to a certain extent!

      Jagdeo

What do you think?

