The Quest To Find Myself Continues

Awhile ago, I challenged myself to writing new material everyday for 20 days. Here’s a clip of one of the jokes that I wrote entitled, ‘You’re Not A Model.’

Not Natural, But Getting There

Now that I’ve done away with the idea that I have to structure my jokes using the Premise, Punchline, Tag theorem, I felt more comfortable on stage…but not completely. I didn’t practice enough. No, it’s more than that. I didn’t spend enough time practising it naturally.

When I’m hanging out with friends or talking on the phone, things come out rapid fire, one after the other, my thoughts bursting at the seams. At 1:30, I still feel like I’m saying line 1, line 2, line 3, etc.

So, what I’m going to do is practice my material in a conversational mode, as if I’m telling it to a friend. I’ll also start making eye contact with the audience members and communicate with them, rather than at them.

Painting Pictures With Words (0:20 – 1:30)

pictures made with words

If I talk about my experiences growing up, will I lose audiences that don’t understand what I’m talking about?

That’s one of the fears that I had when I first started out. For example, if I talk about buying shoes at discount stores, how would audience members laugh if they hadn’t done the same? But Quinn C. Martin told me that you don’t necessarily have to go to the audience…you can bring them into your world.

One of the ways to do this is to be descriptive. In the above clip, I went into great detail to try to paint for the audience the images that I had in my head. Now, I may have gone overboard in some places, but that’s why they call them risks, right?

Adjectives and Metaphors and Similes, Oh My!


I was chatting with K. Trev Wilson, who recently won the Just For Laughs Homegrown Competition. When I mentioned to him that I admired his storytelling prowess (2:17 – 11:00), he told me,

…thanks bro, 2 important tools for comedy, a thesaurus and an encyclopedia.

I think I know what he meant now. For example, in my joke about overweight women, instead of calling her a fat lady, I said that, ‘she rolled her 4×4 ass up to the cashier‘ which got a chuckle. That brings up an interesting point about comedy: it’s not just about getting laughs.

It’s about the experience you create on stage. It’s about the memories that you leave with the audience. Sure, you can have five minutes of laughter, but if they forget about you as soon as you walk off, you’re leaving with nothing.

I Found It!!!

Now that’s what I’m like when I’m acting naturally! I noticed a girl in the audience laughing at my KFC bendy cashier microphone reference, and instantly felt like I was among friends. Accordingly, I started laughing and lost myself in the explanation.

We’re inching closer and closer, my friends.

Jagdeocomedy

About Michael Jagdeo

My name's Michael Jagdeo, and I refuse to write about myself in the third person. I'm a Comedian from Toronto, Ontario, Canada. In addition to honing my stand-up comedy act, I maintain this blog and write the weekly comedy article for blogTO.com.
This entry was posted in How To Be A Comic, My Comedy, Open Mic Experiences and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

