Tim Sim’s Fresh Meat Competition 2012

MON SEPT 10 / TIM SIM’S FRESH MEAT COMPETITION / SECOND CITY / 51 MERCER / 8PM / TICKETS $12 PURCHASED VIA 416 343 0011

tim sim's fresh meat competition encouragement fund

Today’s a big day: I’m competing against 21 comedians for $5,000.00. Five acts will move onto the finals which will be held on Sept. 30. I should probably be nervous.

How I’m Going To Spend $5,000.00

taking my Tim Sims encouragement fund on the road

I’m going to get on stage in all of the major comedy cities in North America to get some perspective on what the road is like for a comic. Eventually, I’ll find myself in L.A. where I’ll perform while Joe Rogan is in the room. After impressing him with my act, he’s going to invite me to tour with him. That’s how Ari Shaffir made quantum leaps with his act.

And so over the next six-twelve months, I’ll build more than enough material for a 45-minute TV taping. Having my own special will put me on the map.

How do I know all of this? The thoughts came to me while I was meditating.

Magic of Deadlines

work expands to fill the time allotted

The final round of the competition will require me to have a ten-minute set. Thank God I’ve had deadlines galore in the past year.

Finding Out The Hard Wayscared of time

When Quinn approached me to do a set at his innaugural show at the Hard Rock Cafe, I had material. When he asked me to be on the second show, I messed up royally by not spending enough time working on new stuff. I never let that happen again.

I’ve done three shows with him in total, each one requiring a fresh seven minutes of hotness. Now, I’m working on new jokes that require me to take my act to new levels of risk/reward. I would have never worked this hard if I didn’t have Hard Rock and Fresh Meat shows breathing down my neck for new stuff.

It’s easy to get on stage. The problem is, it’s also easy not to get on stage. So while I think it’s possible to overdeadline yourself and get burnt out, I think timelines inject a healthy sense of urgency into your life. My next deadline? I’m going to put in for next year’s NXNE.

Iron Sharpens Iron

John C. Maxwell said that companies flourish in their creative stage, profit in their management stage, and eventually decline into the stagnation stage. Why the decline? They stopped creating.

The best thing about having a deadline is that material sharpens material. Just when I get excited about a new joke, 3 new ones come along that push the old ones down. They fight with each other to become a part of my five or seven-minute set, and only the strong survive.

Ok maybe the strong sometimes suck donkey balls, but you get the idea.

Comedy: she’s my sexy girl,

PS – Your instincts are correct: I am doing that dance where you do the gun fingers in front of your chest and move them in parallel circles towards you, one after another.

About Michael Jagdeo

My name's Michael Jagdeo, and I refuse to write about myself in the third person. I'm a Comedian from Toronto, Ontario, Canada. In addition to honing my stand-up comedy act, I maintain this blog and write the weekly comedy article for blogTO.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tim Sim’s Fresh Meat Competition 2012

  1. I am sure you already included this in your computations for the 5000, but just to be sure, HOOKERS

  2. Pingback: Tim Sims 2012 Fresh Meat Competition Preliminaries – A Look Back | Diary of a Toronto Stand-Up Comedian

What do you think?

