I’m Tired…and the Chinese Are Taking Over!

On Monday, I didn’t want to work. I just wanted to be alone, eat junk food, and watch movies. I was worried because that’s how I felt when I was at the height of my depression. Was I going through another episode?

But then it hit me: I hadn’t taken a day off for over a month. With a big stand-up comedy competition breathing down my neck, I was on stage almost every night and weaving in work responsibilities where possible. Luckily, my previous work paid off dividends while I used Jinni.com to find film after film to watch.

Peaks & Valleys

There’s a great book called Peaks & Valleys by Spencer Johnson. Short story shorter (it’s only about a hundred pages), the book reminds us that life is filled with good times and bad…but we sometimes fail to realize that good times and bad times are connected.

On Monday & Tuesday, my investments paid off:

  • Received a media pass to Just For Laugh’s Toronto. What does this mean? Only that I get to watch Louis CK, Ari Shaffir, Brendon Walsh, Tom Segura, Mark Little, Chris Locke, Reggie Watts, & Pete Holmes for free while I cover the event for blogTO.com. This will give me the chance to watch the best in the world do what I want to become the best at.
  • Filming confirmed for a short segment that will air on a small network…what are they called again? Oh, that’s right: MTV.
  • Published in a Magazine!
  • the LOT comedy club review

So yeah, it’s been a good couple of days of reaping rewards while watching movies and eating fried chicken from the Chinese store. Guys, seriously…

I think that the Chinese are going to take over the world. Their container of fried chicken is $10.17 and only closes when they use a goddamn rubber band. They won’t take over using sovereign debt, nor will they conquer using their military. They will win because we will become neutralized by their delicious yet deadly bite-sized ninja stars. It’s biological warfare at it’s finest.

Save me! Please!? Why are you smiling, round-eye? Oh nothey’ve gotten to you, too…please…please pass me the hot sauce

This is how I’d act the previous paragraph (0:36),


About Michael Jagdeo

My name's Michael Jagdeo, and I refuse to write about myself in the third person. I'm a Comedian from Toronto, Ontario, Canada. In addition to honing my stand-up comedy act, I maintain this blog and write the weekly comedy article for blogTO.com.
This entry was posted in Open Mic Experiences and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

