New Model of Stand-up Comedy In Action

In my last post, I discussed a new model of comedy that I’d be implementing:
new model of stand-up comedy
I’ve noticed time and time again that audiences laugh and applaud the most when a comedian improvises and engages the crowd. This new outlook works by weaving crowd work and improv into the material itself, so that the entire set seems relaxed and off the cuff.

Last night, I got a chance to try it out.

The Set

Background: Previous comedian made a joke about how paedophiles give out condoms for Halloween.

My Improv (bombed): Neil, do paedophiles use condoms? You can’t get a child pregnant, can you? But better safe than sorry, I guess, eh?

Transitional Joke (got laughs): You think paedophiles have a dating website? Plenty of…recess?

Customized Material (got laughs): I’m on a dating website called Plenty of…blueballs.

Worked like a charm! But the improv bombed, Mike… I know…that’s where the model kicks in…

Breaking It Down

Did the improv hit? Nope. Previously, that initial unease and tension would’ve permeated through my entire set…not this time. Model to the rescue!

By using a punchline formula that had worked in the past (plenty of…), the Transitional Joke got the audience laughing. Then, by customizing my material to fit the situation, not only did I get another laugh, but it all seemed to flow as one cohesive piece.

Moving Forward

He who is ill-prepared has little room for improvisation – Anon. via Quinn C. Martin

Today, I’m going to spend a lot of time practising my material so that I’m spending less effort thinking about my next line and more time scanning the audience and delivering. I’m really excited about working on this!!

Jagdeo

About Michael Jagdeo

My name's Michael Jagdeo, and I refuse to write about myself in the third person. I'm a Comedian from Toronto, Ontario, Canada. In addition to honing my stand-up comedy act, I maintain this blog and write the weekly comedy article for blogTO.com.
This entry was posted in How To Be A Comic, Open Mic Experiences and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

