My Best Set Ever

Dear Diary,

It’s been exactly one month since we last talked. Why the wait, you ask?

Remember the reggae set that I was agonizing over? The one that was causing me to lose sleep and take long walks in the rain because it kept bombing and bombing and bombing in front of the downtown crowds?

Well, I didn’t want to hold palaver (Dark Tower whut whut!!) until I could show you how things transpired at the Hard Rock Cafe…

Long story short, I killed it, and by killing it I mean I got five applause breaks in the span of eight and a half minutes.

Now, could the start have been better? Of course! Could the delivery have been smoother? Sure! However, in terms of bringing everything that I’ve learned thus far to the stage, I couldn’t have asked for more.

But what most people don’t know is that I almost didn’t use that reggae set

Decisions, Decisions…

decision making matrix - good outcomes bad outcomes good decisions bad decisions

A lot of people were telling me (and understandably so!) that I should jettison my reggae set given it’s poor track record. It was a decision that haunted me more and more as the day of the show drew closer.

Ultimately, I reflected on the following points:

  1. The audience for Quinn’s show would largely consist of urban men and women between the ages of 21-35. The ultimate success of my performance was going to be determined by their laughter.
  2. In contrast, the audiences that weren’t responding well to my reggae set were downtown Toronto crowds, which are virtually bereft of urban minorities.
  3. On the few occasions he saw me perform it, Quinn laughed at my reggae set.

In the end, I decided to use my reggae set based on the fact that Quinn, the closest that I had gotten to performing in front of an urban crowd, had responded very positively to it.

In other words, I felt that I was making a good decision based on the information that I had available to me. Could it have resulted in a bad outcome? Sure. But as long as my decision-making process was sound, I’d be able to look at myself in the mirror the next day with a clear conscience.

We Run Shows, Shows Nuh Run We

Now, it’s time to think about running my own open mic where I get to host every week and hone my ability to work a crowd, improvise, and most importantly, figure out how to attract an audience and build a following.

Why build a following? For the sweet, sweet milk and honey that it will bring, of course! Excuse me miss, could I have this skank? No, I’m not calling you a skank…skank in terms of, hey wait, come back…crap…guess I’ll just have to skank alone…

About Michael Jagdeo

My name's Michael Jagdeo, and I refuse to write about myself in the third person. I'm a Comedian from Toronto, Ontario, Canada. In addition to honing my stand-up comedy act, I maintain this blog and write the weekly comedy article for blogTO.com.
This entry was posted in My Comedy and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Best Set Ever

  1. No see video! Says it’s private.

    Did-a-chick? Dad-a-chack? Dum-a-chum? (I just KNOW you’ll get that)

    • EK?! EK?!

      I have a confession to make…I’m actually not reading the series, per se, but rather listening to the audiobook recording…does that still count as reading? I dunno. All I know is that I’m devouring the entire thing like I did with Breaking Bad & Sons of Anarchy. I’m at the part where I’m learning about the history between the lovebirds. Loved Stephen King ever since I was a kid.

      Funny how I got into King. One of my buddies in grade seven was reading It, and I thought to myself, “Hey, wait a minute…I’m smarter than him. How come he’s reading books and I’m not. If he can read, I can really read.” Then I read just about every Stephen King book I could get my hands on. The ego’s a funny thing.

      I changed the link…hopefully it’s working now! Great talking to my best friend across the pond!

      Jagdeo

      • Dammit, still private.

        Audiobook is allowed 🙂 I’ve probably spent more of my life reading than anything else but sleeping, and despite the slagging King can get, he is my all-time favourite. How exciting for the Dark Tower to be a new thing! I’ve been buying every book since the start, and have read the first ones many times and all of them at least twice. IT was a massive tome, I can see how seeing someone your age reading that would make you do a double take! I’m a bit older than ye, but I still have my original hardback copy of IT 🙂

        • Wowzers,

          A fellow King fan! I’d have to say that The Green Mile is the most touching book I’ve ever read. I can’t imagine having to wait between Dark Tower installments! I guess it adds to the excitement.

          Oh wait – The Long Walk was also very heartbreaking, too.

          A fellow Constant Reader,

          Jagdeo

  2. Hi Mike,

    FYI, it only took you 2.5 years from the date of this post to ACTUALLY start an open mic.

    But better late than never, right?

    Jagdeo

What do you think?

