Living My Dreams

Dear Diary,

During this morning’s audition, one of the the Casting Directors asked me,

what are your dreams

I paused for a split-second, chuckled, and replied,

living my dreams

I didn’t always feel that way about how my life turned out…

High School Reunion

envy

A few months ago, I saw an old high school acquaintance in the mall with her husband. I didn’t say hi because I anticipated the questions about what I was doing for a living. In particular, I didn’t want to answer her with Comedian because it felt like I was admitting that I had failed in my bid to become a businessman.

I walked around the mall for awhile, feeling really shitty about myself for being embarrassed…embarrassed?!?! About what? Following my dreams?!?!? I eventually started to look behind the pain, and asked myself,

the fear of following your dreams

Eventually, I realized that because I wasn’t as monetarily successful as she was, I was taking that to mean that there must be something inherently inferior about me. I realized that I had unknowingly put an expectation on my shoulders that if I wasn’t wealthy, I shouldn’t be happy or proud of myself.

Tat Tvam Asi (I Am That)

But that’s not the case anymore. Today, when that Casting Director asked me what my dreams were, I didn’t hesitate: I told her that I was already living them. It was at that point when I realized that I had finally stopped aspiring to be something I never really wanted to be in the first place (see About Me for the full story).

I love where I am right now. Everyday, I get up, grab a coffee, and proceed to make myself laugh until my head hits the pillow. I wouldn’t change my career choices for all of the money in the world.

And hey, if you’re out there, chasing money like I once did, I’d like to repeat what a millionaire once told me as I took a seat in his humble Mazda 3,

at the end of the day, you only get to sit in one chair

Word to Big Bird.

About Michael Jagdeo

My name's Michael Jagdeo, and I refuse to write about myself in the third person. I'm a Comedian from Toronto, Ontario, Canada. In addition to honing my stand-up comedy act, I maintain this blog and write the weekly comedy article for blogTO.com.
This entry was posted in Open Mic Experiences and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

