My Model is Better Than Your Model

jealousy

Dear Diary,

Recently, I’ve been fighting the urge to explain away the success of the people around me, especially those who operate in ways that offend my opinion of how people should achieve success, treat others, etc.

Luckily, I’ve been listening to the Ram Dass podcast, and through a combination of his lectures and daily meditation, I’ve started looking at the universe in a different way.

I Love My Model

My model of the universe

I have a model in my head that describes how the universe should work. I have invested a lot of energy into this model. My ego is heavily invested in this model.

All Other Models Are Inferior

My model vs. Their Model

Therefore, when people don’t conform to this model, my ego says, “Stop! Don’t you know how the world works? That’ll never work. Here, let me show you how you’re supposed to do it…”

…Or So I Thought

My Model doesn't work

When others don’t act in accordance with my model, that means they don’t believe in my model. That offends and scares my ego, because what if they were to achieve success by following a different model (gasp!)? What would that signify about the effectiveness and accuracy of my model? Furthermore, what would that mean about my ego and my values if they’re achieving success and I’m not (double gasp!)?

This leads me to ask:

  • How much time and energy goes into protecting my models?
  • How much time and energy go into protecting my ego?
  • How much time and energy go into attacking others models and egos in order to protect my view of the universe?

The Map is not the Terrain

Essentially, all models are wrong, but some are useful. – George E.P. Box

In the end, all models are simply half-truths, relative axioms subject to a myriad of constraints (awww yeeeyyaah…math references in the constrizhouse!!!!)

What’s true for me may not be true for you. What works for me, my methods and ultimately my models, may not work for you. There are many different ways up the mountain.

So let go, doh stick, and keep freeing yourself from attachment. Lay not up…

Funny Inspiration for Subheadings
About Michael Jagdeo

My name's Michael Jagdeo, and I refuse to write about myself in the third person. I'm a Comedian from Toronto, Ontario, Canada. In addition to honing my stand-up comedy act, I maintain this blog and write the weekly comedy article for blogTO.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

