My First Open Mic In A Year

comedian bombinb on stage

As I went down the stairs into the subway, I called Quinn to tell him that I was heading to an open mic. Immediately, he exclaimed,

Jiggy!!! Back on the wagon!!!

It’s my sincere hope that you have a best friend that believes in you the way I know Quinn believes in me. I told him I’d call him when I got topside.

And, *exhale*, there I was, on my way to an open mic.

The Performance

As I walked to the bar, Quinn and I got to talking about bombing, and I asked him, “As a host, what’s your strategy on how to follow a comic that bombs?

how to follow a comedian that bombs as a host

I left promptly after tonight’s performance. Like PROMPTLY. You ever see someone bomb so bad that the host is utterly dumbfounded? And she was a really good host! I just bombed that hard.

Silver Linings

As I left the performance, crestfallen, I didn’t even want to listen to the recording, but I forced myself too, anyway. I did it incredulously, as if to say, “Really!? Nahhhh…that shit was funny…let me hear it again.”

Three quarters of the way through the disaster, I said to myself, “Holy shit, this is bad. So, about your comedy career…

Just then, something miraculous happened:

I replayed that ten seconds of glory over, and over, AND OVER AGAIN as I enjoyed the mercifully long walk to the underground.

About Michael Jagdeo

My name's Michael Jagdeo, and I refuse to write about myself in the third person. I'm a Comedian from Toronto, Ontario, Canada. In addition to honing my stand-up comedy act, I maintain this blog and write the weekly comedy article for blogTO.com.
This entry was posted in Open Mic Experiences and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

