Rejecting Appreciation

Rejecting appreciation

This weekend, blogTO posted my list of the Top Up and Coming Comedians in Toronto.  When I found out it had reached over 600 Likes, you know what I said to myself?

“Yeah, that’s nice, but if it wasn’t for blogTO, that shit wouldn’t have gotten any likes.”

Ugh. Why can’t I pat myself on the back every now and then?  I mean, sure, blogTO has a huge following, but some of the likes must have had something to do with the list I spent 3 weeks agonizing over again and again, right!?!?  Shit, I must have changed the selection criteria four times, not to mention that I managed to put together a list that I am proud to stand behind (something I wasn’t sure was possible when I started it).

*Thinking*

Hey Mike, you know what? You’re a fucking stud. That list is the bombs. CAN’TS NOBODY FUCKS WIT IT. That criteria you used, oh man, that was fucking genius, something that NOBODY explicitly suggested to you. Oh yeah, and blogTO keeps using ya because you’re a STUD. You created Diary of a Stand-up, and parleyed it into a regular gig as the featured comedy writer for a blog with two hundred thousand plus followers.

THAT’S how you got a post which garnered 600+ Likes. Jesus, what’s gonna happen when you become famous after getting a Comedy Central special – that it wasn’t you, but rather Comedy Central that deserves all the credit?!

*Exhale*

I feel better now. Hey Mike, how many times do you I need to fucking remind you? You were born for greatness.

PS – Sorry about all the ‘fucks.’ I listened to Joe DeRosa and Bill Burr on the way to work this morning, and they have me all riled up..

About Michael Jagdeo

My name's Michael Jagdeo, and I refuse to write about myself in the third person. I'm a Comedian from Toronto, Ontario, Canada. In addition to honing my stand-up comedy act, I maintain this blog and write the weekly comedy article for blogTO.com.
This entry was posted in How To Be A Comic, Open Mic Experiences and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

